Who Won 2022’s ‘Rock Tour of the Year’? The Votes Are In

Motley Crue and Def Leppard’s joint 2022 ‘Stadium Tour’ won Rock Tour of the Year at the 2023 Polestar Awards this week (February 22nd). Also at the ceremony, the Eagles received the Polestar Milestone Award and Dave Grohl honored his manager.

Annual Polestar Awards Presented by Live Music Trade Magazine pole starhas recognized and celebrated the most innovative artists, venues, tours, companies and operators in the live entertainment business for the past 34 years.

The stadium tour — Motley Crue’s and Def Leppard’s twice-postponed North American tour — was one of the highest-grossing tours of 2022, earning over $173 million on the tour.

Another joint tour by Crewe and Leppard, ‘The World Tour’, is currently traveling the globe with Motley Crue’s replacement guitarist John 5, replacing the retired Mick Mars. It will pass through Europe this summer.

Crewe + Leppard Win Best Rock Tour

The Stadium Tour won at Polestar in multiple ways. Joan Jett was awarded Supporting/Special Guest Act of the Year for supporting the tour alongside his fellow opening his acts Poison and Classless his acts.

Inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, the Eagles received a Milestone Award in recognition of their 50+ years as a band. Eagles’ Don Henley said, “I just want to say how grateful I am to have been able to make this happen over 50 years.”

Grohl presented his longtime manager, John Silva of Silva Artist Management, with the Personal Manager of the Year award at Polestar.

Motley Crue, Vince Neil, Nikki Sixx, Tommy Lee, John 5

Motley Crue in 2023. (YouTube: Jim Powers)

Dave Grohl stands up at awards ceremony

According to a press release, Grohl came on stage during the show, calling it a “actually fun awards ceremony.”

Foo Fighter added: …we’ve had some incredible victories and some devastating crises, but the only thing that’s held us together over the years has been love.

The Polestar Awards are the only “peer voted” awards in the live entertainment industry, with winners determined by other industry experts, Polestar said. See the full list of 2023 winners here. Other winners include Harry Styles (Major Tour of the Year), Post Malone (Hip-Hop Tour of the Year), Lizzo (R&B Tour of the Year) and Billie Eilish (Pop Tour of the Year). will be

Get tickets for Motley Crue and Def Leppard here. Subscribe to Loudwire’s newsletter and download the Loudwire app for the latest rock and metal news.

Watch: Def Leppard and Mötley Crüe Promote ‘The World Tour’ – February 21

Guide to rock + metal bands touring in 2023

Check out the 2023 tour schedules of over 150 rock and metal bands.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *