Oscar Nominees Son Lux, Diane Warren Among Winners at 2023 SCL Awards (Full List)

Two 2023 Oscar nominees, Son Lax and Diane Warren, each won awards in the 4th annual SCL Awards competition organized by The Society of Composers & Lyricists. Hosted by Emmy Award winner Darren Criss, it took place Wednesday (February 15) at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles.

Song Lax, Best Oscar-nominated Original Score All at once, anywhere, which earned an excellent score for an independent film. The award was accepted by Ryan Lott of the trio.Warren nominated for Oscar for ‘Applause’ speak like a womanwon the Outstanding Song Award in the Drama Documentary category.

Michael Abels was the double winner that night.He earned an excellent original score for feature films no as well as the Jury Prize of Omaran opera he composed with Rhiannon Giddens.

SCL has awarded two Jury Awards for 2023 in recognition of the increasing ways in which music is used in audiovisual contexts. These awards are voted on by SCL’s Board of Directors.Another went to an audiovisual concert experience Female Warrior: Voice of ChangeAmy Anderson will serve as music director.

The Spirit of Collaboration Award went to composer Justin Hurwitz and director Damien Chazelle. la la landrespectively an Oscar-winning, 2022 movie Babylon, for which Hurwitz was once again nominated for an Oscar for best original score. The presentation was accompanied by a musical performance including “Audition (The Fools Who Dream)”. la la land, first man harp and theremin theme, Babylon medley.

The Spirit of Collaboration Award, considered SCL’s most distinctive and perhaps most meaningful, honors composers and filmmakers who maintain outstanding creative partnerships. Previous winners are Thomas Newman and Sam Mendes, Carter Burwell and the Coen Brothers, Terrence Blanchard and Spike Lee.

In addition, filmmaker/lyricist Guillermo del Toro and lyricist Roban Katz received an award for Outstanding Original Song for a Musical or Comedy for “Ciao Papa.” Pinocchio by Guillermo del Toroco-written with Alexandre Desplat.

Nami Mermad Star Trekfirst female composer Star Trek: Prodigywon the David Rakshin Award for Emerging Talent Star Trek: Strange New World.

Stephanie Economou, who won the inaugural David Rakshin Award at last year’s ceremony, won Best Original Score for Interactive Media. Assassin’s Creed Valhalla: Dawn of RagnarokAlso, Emmy Award-winning composer Cristóbal Tapia de Beer, white lotus 2 years in a row.

The Society of Composers & Lyricists is the premier organization for professional film, television, video game and musical theater composers and lyricists. The 77-year-old organization has a strong focus on education, addressing creative, technical and legal issues affecting music in the visual media community.

The 2023 SCL Awards nominees and winners are:

Highest score for a studio film

Alexandre Desplat – Pinocchio by Guillermo del Toro

Carter Burwell – Inishelin’s Banshee

Winner: Michael Abels – no

Michael Giacchino – Batman

John Powell – don’t worry darling

Excellent score for an independent film

Leo Billenberg, Zach Robinson – Strange: The Al Yankovic Story

Sharon Farber – Brainwashing: Sex camera power

Winner: Son Lux – All at once, anywhere

Rob Simonsen – whale

Mark Smythe – The Leaf: Stalker

Musical/Comedy Outstanding Songs

Winner: Alexandre Desplat, Rovan Katz, Guillermo del Toro – “Ciao Papa” Pinocchio by Guillermo del Toro

Kyung Hershey, Scully Jones, Benj Pasek, Justin Paul, Mark Sonnenbrick – from “Good Afternoon” Lively

From Danny Elfman “Light the Match” central park

Billy Eichner, Marc Shaiman – from ‘Love Is Not Love’ Brothers

Weird Al Yankovic – “Now You Know” From Strange: The Al Yankovic Story

Drama/documentary theme song

Winner: Diane Warren – From “Applause” speak like a woman

From Taylor Swift “Carolina” where clodad sings

Lady Gaga, Bloodpop – “Hold My Hand” From Top Gun: Maverick

Tems, Rihanna, Ludwig Göransson, Ryan Coogler – “Lift Me Up” From Black Panther: Wakanda Forever

Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross from “(You Made It Feel Like) Home” bones and all

excellent score for tv

Nicholas Britell – Andor

Siddhartha Khosla – Only Murders in Buildings

Bear McCreary – Lord of the rings: Ring of power

Theodore Shapiro – retirement

Winner: Cristobal Tapia De Veer – white lotus

Excellent score for interactive media

Nainita Desai – immortality

Winner: Stephanie Economou – Assassin’s Creed Valhalla: Dawn of Ragnarok

Bear McCreary – War God Ragnarok

Winifred Phillips – Jurassic world primal ops

Christopher Williams – cat thief

David Raksin Award for Emerging Talents

Dara Taylor – Invitation

Anna Drubich – savage

DeAndre James Allen-Toole – God’s country

Eshin Aydingos – Simcha and sadness

Winner: Nami Mermad – Star Trek: Strange New World

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *