Full Winners List – Billboard

Janice Ian had a memorable night at the International Folk Music Awards held Wednesday (February 1) at The Westin Kansas City at the Crown Center in Kansas City, Missouri. The veteran artist received the previously announced Lifetime Achievement Award and was also honored with Artist of the Year, the highest competitive category of the year.

crooked tree Molly Tuttle & Golden Highway’s album wins album of the year. The album was nominated for a Grammy Award for Best Bluegrass Album. Tuttle has also been nominated for Best New Artist. The Grammy Awards will be announced on her Sunday, February 5th.

“Bright Star,” written and performed by Anais Mitchell, and “B61,” written and performed by Eoife O’Donovan, were named Song of the Year.Mitchell won Tony and Grammy Awards for his work in musicals Hadestown.

Jake Blunt and Wallis Byrd performed in honor of Ian. Blunt performed Ian’s coming-of-age classic, “At Seventeen,” which won a Grammy Award. Byrd sang “Better Times Will Come”.

Ian, 71, is a two-time Grammy Award winner. She won her 1975 Award for Best Pop Vocal Performance, Female’s “At Seventeen”, and 2012 Best Spoken Her Words for Her Album Award. Society Child: My AutobiographyIan received his 10th Grammy nomination for Best Folk Album this year. light at the end of the line.

Leyla McCalla and Josh White Jr. performed in honor of Josh White, recipient of this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award for Legacy Artists. White died in 1969 when he was 55 years old. McCullah performed “I Gave My Love a Cherry (The Riddle Song)”. White Jr. sang “One Meatball”.

McCullah also won the People’s Voice Award, which recognizes individuals who “unabashedly accept social and political commentary in their creative work and public career.” Past winners include Jason Mraz (2022), Jackson Browne (2021) and Ani DiFranco (2020).

Founded in 1981 by John Prine, Al Bunetta and Dan Einstein, Oh Boy Records has won business/academic awards. In honor of Prine, Milk His Carton His Kids performed the song “That’s the Way the World Goes ‘Round” from his 1978 album. spoiled orangeIris Dimento performed the song “Mexican Home” from her 1973 album. sweet revenge.

Sarah Krcic performed “Mujer Indígena” at the opening night show of the 35th Annual Conference of the Folk Alliance International.

Based in Kansas City, Missouri, the organization was founded in 1989. It currently has over 3,000 members, including artists, agents, managers, labels, publicists, arts administrators, venues, festivals and concert series presenters.

Alisa Amador has won the Rising Tide Awards starting in 2021. The award recognizes that she has “inspired others by embodying the values ​​and ideals of her community through her creative work, community role, and her public voice.” It honors the artist of

The Shambhala Festival, a four-day contemporary performing arts festival in Northamptonshire, England, has won the Clearwater Prize. This award goes to festivals that “prioritize environmental stewardship and demonstrate public leadership in sustainable event production”.

Here is the complete list of 2023 International Folk Music Award winners and Honorary Award winners:

album This year’s

Anais MitchellAnais Mitchell
Winner: Crooked TreeMolly Tuttle & Golden Highway
Ride on: Songs of Sonny Terry and Brownie McGee, Taj Mahal and Rai Cooder
DeadSilvana Estrada
queen of shebaAngelique Kidjo & Ibrahim Maalouf

Artist of the Year

Eoife O’Donovan
Jake Blunt
winner: Janis Ian
Layla McCullah
Platek Khad

song of the year

“Udhero Na” by Arooj Aftab, performed by Arooj Aftab and Anoushka Shankar
“Vini Wë” written and composed by Layla McCalla
winner: “Bright Star” written and composed by Anais Mitchell
“How” written by Marcus Mumford and Brandi Carlyle, performed by Marcus Mumford featuring Brandi Carlyle
winner: “B61” Lyricist/Composer Eioife O’Donovan

Elaine Weisman Lifetime Achievement Award: Janis Ian (Living), Josh White (Legacy), Oh Boy Records (Business/Academic)

People’s Voice Awards: Layla McCullah

Rising Tide Award: Alisa Amador

Clearwater Award: shamballa festival

Spirit of Folk Award: Steve Edge, Amy Lightnower Jacobs, Mercy Marxor, Adrian Sabogal, Pat Mitchell Worley

Folk DJ Hall of Fame: Robert Resnick, Marilyn Ray Beyer, John Pratt, Harry B. Soria Jr.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *